Custom Adv 1
The annual Innovative and ICT Integrated Lesson Teacher of the Year Award (iTOYA)

The annual Innovative and ICT Integrated Lesson Teacher of the Year Award (iTOYA)

Published in CEMASTEA News Written by  June 15 2018 font size decrease font size increase font size
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

CEMASTEA in conjunction with, e-Kitabu, TSC and KESSHA held its second iTOYA competition for the most innovative teacher who integrates ICT in teaching and learning with an aim of enhancing teacher professional development and technological pedagogical content knowledge. ICT Teacher of the Year Award (iTOYA) was held in Mombasa during the 43rd annual Kenya Secondary School Heads Association. The theme of the conference was “Re-directing the Education Sector in Kenya.” and ICT integration in teaching and learning. The eight finalists were drawn from the eight regions namely; Nairobi, Coast region, Eastern region, North-Eastern region, Western region, Rift valley region, Central region and Nyanza region.

The Eight Regional Finalists

 From left: Fred Bongu (Coast) Jasper Sifuna(Western) Damaris Mwende (Eastern) Benard Omollo(Nyanza)

Maxwell Kayesi(Centra) Ali Mahat (North Eastern) Jane Sakwa (Nairobi) and Julius Munene(Rift Valley)

 iTOYA competition was held at the national levels alongside Teacher of the Year Award (TOYA) and Principal of the Year Award (POYA). On day one, seven regional winners were subjected to an aptitude test and made presentations on the key milestones and initiatives that made them qualify at the regionals on the second day.


             Mr.  Benard Omollo (Nyanza Region)                                                   Ms.   Damaris Mwende (Eastern Region)


            Mr. Fred Bongu (Coast Region)                                                               Mr. Jasper Sifuna (Western Region)                                                                                         

The presentations were done  concurrently with the TOYA and POYA which. The presentations attracted many teachers from all over Kenya and iTOYA regional winners got positive reactionsfor the good work they were doing to integrate ICT in their lessons. The nominees were also subjected to a face to face interview. Honorable Amos Kimunya, MP Kipipiri Constituency graced the occasion as the guest of honor during the awarding ceremony in the company  of Chief Commercial Officer of Equity Bank Mr. Polycarp Igathe.


    Honorable Amos Kimunya, MP Kipipiri Constituency                         Mr. Polycarp Igathe, Chief Commercial Officer; Equity Bank

The winner of the iTOYA was Mr.Maxwell Vincent Kayesi from Karuri Secondary Kiambu, Central region, who was awarded a laptop, a trophy and Kshs. 100,000, the first runners up was Ms. Mwende Kamoya from Mbooni Boys Makueni, Eastern region who was also awarded a laptop, a trophy and Ksh. 70,000 and finally for second runners up Mr. Fred Bongu from Coast Girls, Coast region who was awarded a laptop, a trophy and Kshs. 50,000. All the regional winners took home a Lenovo laptop, a gift bag and a regional trophy.



     Name: Maxwell Vincent Kayesi

     School: Karuri Secondary Kiambu

     Region: Central

1st Runners up


     Name:Ms. Damaris Mwende Kamoya

     School: Mbooni Boys Makueni

     Region: Eastern

2nd Runners up